top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaph S

Previewed Reviews: February 201

We here at Nerds Ranting are continuing this thought exercise, wherein we look through this month's Previews, find a book we're interested it, and review it when it comes out.


Here are the picks from Previews Magazine for February from our contributors:



JASON

Mighty Thor #706

Typically, for our Previewed Reviews we try and highlight first issues or at least the start of a new run, in order to interest our readers to start. On our second monthly posting for this segment, I'm completely tearing down the premise. I'm going with the very end of an inspiring run, from Jason Aaron (writer), Russell Dauterman (art), and Matt Wilson (colors), with many other talented creators thrown in to the Mighty Thor series. My pick, Mighty Thor #706, is assured to be an incredible send off to a character that has been wonderfully tragic and strong all at once. I know there are a lot of haters out there who don't understand why Thor had to be turned into a woman. But frankly, they're closed-minded fools. Jane Foster as Thor has been awesome! What I have taken to calling Jason Aaron's Thorverse has been enriched by the fall of Odinson and Jane's ascension to godliness. That isn't even mentioning the breathtaking art from Dauterman and sheer beauty of Wilson's colors. The two combined have put out some of the absolute most brilliant pages in comics of recent years, that will seem make any followers feel muted. If you've foolishly missed out on the Aaron Thorverse, I highly recommend you pick up everything you can and read it all. But without a doubt, Mighty Thor #706 hitting the shelves on April 18th will be a hot copy that is sure to sell out quick!



HENRY

FLASH #42: When I was first opening my eyes to the world of comics, I fell in love with the Flash. Geoff Johns’ take on the adventures of the Scarlet Speedster instantly hooked me and I became a lifelong fan. However, in the 15 years since, I have often had a difficult time getting immersed in the title. Why? Well, I’m a Wally West guy. Barry is possibly my least favorite of the lineage (Shoutout to Jay and Bart!). So imagine my excitement when I saw Joshua Williamson had plans for Wally in the “Flash War” storyline! Williamson has been my favorite Flash writer since the return of Barry Allen, and after the incredible Flash Annual, I have high hopes for this new tale that sees Wally stepping up into the main series once more as he takes on one of his greatest foes. It definitely helps that it will be drawn by the two artists that shaped the Flash for my early years, Scott Kolins and Howard Porter. I’m overjoyed that they’re once more involved with the title. I haven’t been this excited for a Flash comic since Flash Rebirth back in 2009. Starting with Flash #42, it’s going to be really hard to get me to talk about anything besides this storyline.



RAPHAEL

ACTION COMICS #1000

When I was a younger, aspiring comic writer (as opposed to the older writer who still wants to do comics sitting before you), getting published in Action Comics #1000 was a dream of mine. Well, that didn't happen... but DC did land a new writer with a bit of talent, Brian Michael Bendis. Bendis' reputation precedes him, and he'll be taking over the reins on the Superman series after this landmark issue, the first comic to hit 1000 issues. As a lover of Superman, comics history and a number of the creative team members, it's easily the book I'm most excited for in April. Now let's see if I can get my way into Action #1500....

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page